Skip to main content

Autosave

If you've ever forgotten to save your work and suddenly lost your connection, or your browser crashed, you may have lost a lot of work. Autosave will automatically save all of your changes in the background, so you never lose your work again. You won't need to worry about constantly saving your work as you go. You will still also be able to manually save you maps as before.

Product Area
Scene Editor
Status: Completed8 comments

Log in to comment and vote

Comments8

  • Philipp Brockerhoff changed status to Completed
    •

    Jun 3

  • Ravi & Izzy

    •

    Aug 7, 2025

    This is needed badly. I just lost an hour of work because Chrome crashed.

  • Fay Onyx

    •

    Oct 1, 2024

    This would be great as long as there would be a way to turn it off. I make big maps and during peak times saving can take a while. I'm worried that autosaving might overtax things and create a lag while using the program (something I already experience during peak use times, even though I have a pretty powerful computer).

  • Controllerfreak

    •

    Oct 4, 2023

    If this is opt in, I'd highly suggest a popup that asks when you load a map. I use a vfx app called Houdini and you have to enable it every single time. I never remember and I lose work constantly.

  • Bearworks

    •

    Mar 30, 2023

    Will we have the ability to toggle this function? There are times I wouldnt want it saving progress when experimenting.

    • Philipp Brockerhoff

      •

      Jul 12, 2023

      Bearworks: There will still be a manual save, so you can always load your last manual save instead the autosave.

  • The Herald

    •

    Feb 21, 2023

    Would love to see this. Fortunately I haven't had anything catastrophic happen yet to where I've lost more than 10 min or so of work but there have been plenty of times I look down to save & see it's at 200+ changes. Would be nice to have provided it doesn't tax Inkarnate too much.

  • Ingmar changed status to In Progress
    •

    Nov 2, 2022