Skip to main content

brush layer deleted when switching resolutions

On several maps I have started editing them at 2k for resolution development reasons but then moved to 4K when it was time to manage details. In both my world map, battle map, and isometric field maps I have experienced an issue where changing the resolutions deletes my brush layers and I have to completely repaint them all over again.

I think what is happening is the brush data isn’t saved to the history - neither are masks - so the map when resizing doesn’t copy the brush data over. Regardless of the issue though this is both unworkable artisticically and a severe impediment to proper map preservation - especially when it comes to the browser-level quality of life.

My systems:

  • cachyOS

  • Firefox

Steps to reproduce:

  1. create a map at 2K

  2. create an object layer that includes line, shape, and object data

  3. place a brush layer on top of that layer.

  4. repeat steps 2 and 3 until you have 6 of each layer for a typical map

  5. Add brush content to the brush layer as well as a mask to a few of them.

  6. save the project

  7. leve the projject to the main board.

  8. select the kebab menu in the top right of the image and select “open at resolution”

  9. convert the map to 4K

  10. you will note that when it loads the brush edits are miss

Product Area
Scene Editor
2 comments

Log in to comment and vote

Comments2

  • Venia Logan

    •

    Oct 9

    I’ve got another map prepped so I’m taking a picture beforehand. the brush layer here inverts the pan icon to the vault lever on the door. this is the before:

    and after cloning it the issue has happened and the brush layer is present in the menu but there are no brush strokes on the map. All i did was close out of it and select “open at resolution” and then select “4K.” My brush layer is gone.

    here is the published map link (I did go through the recovery process on this published map):

    https://inkarnate.com/m/Wlm2no

    this has happened with many of my other maps as well. it would help to just auto-run the recovery process when loading a map in the first place. it’s a bit silly that that is there.

  • Venia Logan

    •

    Oct 8

    I should really clarify here because It is a relevant technical detail - it is not DELETING my brush layers - they are still in the layers categories - there is just nothing on them - no brush strokes.